Schools Of Choice Non-Resident Information

The Schools of Choice application window for the 2024-2025 school year is from April 29 - May 20, 2024 ONLY.  For information, please read the Information Sheet. Thank you for your interest in Lakeshore Public Schools!

Lakeshore Public Schools accepts Schools of Choice applications for residents of Berrien County, but non-residents of our District ONLY during specific timeframes.  Acceptance will be determined by the spots available in the building and the grade level requested. Some applications may be denied due to overall building capacity and/or student disciplinary issues.

Parents can apply by completing and returning an application to Lakeshore Public Schools Administrative Office during the posted dates established each year.

Important considerations for parents & students applying for Schools of Choice:

  • The student must be a resident of another school district within Berrien County.

  • Transportation is not provided for Schools of Choice students. Therefore, parents must provide their own transportation to and from school.

  • According to the Michigan High School Athletic Association, there are rules for athletic participation for Schools of Choice enrollees in grades 10-12. Please visit the MHSAA website directly (MHSAA) for current information and eligibility.

Application Information

  • Applications are only accepted during the specified time frame and are NOT on a first come basis.

  • Parents will be notified if their child has been accepted as a Schools of Choice student 15 days after the application window has closed.

  • Complete enrollment paperwork is not needed until after being accepted and proof of residency will still be required at that time.

  • Once your child has been accepted, you do not need to reapply each year as long as you remain living outside of our boundaries but within Berrien County.

 If you have questions regarding Schools of Choice, please contact Dawn Valdez at the Central Office at 269.428.1400 ext. 2953 or Email Dawn Valdez.